Although I don’t crave for sweets as much as when I was younger, when Meyer lemons are in season, I get excited to make Meyer lemon sweets. These deep golden winter citrus are such a special treat that it’s too hard to pass on. My family and I especially love Meyer Lemon Chiffon Cake which I make several times every season. I also love these crispy, crumbly, buttery sables, Meyer Lemon Cookies (マイヤーレモンサブレ).

Watch How to Make Meyer Lemon Cookies (Sables)

Watch Meyer Lemon Cookies video on YouTube

Get Meyer Lemons for Meyer Lemon Cookies

What is Meyer Lemon?

Meyer lemons are smaller and rounder, and less acidic and sweeter than standard lemons. Their rind has a floral fragrance when zested. It’s known as a cross between lemon and mandarin oranges (also called tangerines). Do you have these lemons in your country? I had never seen or tasted this type of lemon while growing up in Japan. I recently learned that Meyer lemons were first introduced in the U.S. from China in the early 20th century. Isn’t it surprising to learn that the fruit originated from the East? It’s easy to make the assumption that they are of European origin when they bear a western name. As a matter of fact, the lemons actually get their name from Frank Meyer, who was a United States Department of Agriculture explorer who traveled to Asia to collect new plant species.

When is Meyer Lemon Season?

These lemons are usually available from late November to May in California. My friend who brought these Meyer lemons for me said she had been harvesting a lot of fruits in her backyard this past January. What a lovely sight it must have been to see a blooming Meyer lemon tree in the backyard, especially in the depths of winter!

Are These Cookies or Sablés?

If you were wondering the question, I’m happy we’re on the same page. Yes, these are SABLES! A sablé is a classic French butter cookie originating from Normandy region. Sable in French translates to ‘sand’ as the texture of these cookies are crumbly and melt in your mouth. My original intention was to name this recipe Meyer Lemon Sablés, but the term is not commonly known in the U.S. So I named it simply Meyer Lemon Cookies, hoping that more people will search this term.

In Japan, sables are a much more popular type of cookies than American-style cookies probably due to the influence from the UK and European countries in our history. I grew up eating different kinds of sables, and I’ve shared some of my favorite sables using unique Japanese flavors such as cherry blossom, matcha, and black sesame flavors (Browse JOC cookie recipes).

Meyer Lemon Cookies – Substitute Suggestions:

Meyer Lemon Zest: To replace the zest of 1 Meyer lemon, simply swap in the zest of 1/2 a tangerine and 1/2 a regular lemon. Cake Flour: I use King Arthur’s cake flour for convenience, but you can make cake flour by mixing all-purpose flour and cornstarch. For 1 cup cake flour, prepare 1 cup all-purpose flour, then take away 2 tablespoons of all-purpose flour and replace with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. Be sure to sift the flour to distribute the cornstarch well before using it in your cake batter. If you’re thinking to try out these darling citrus for the first time, grab them from your winter markets or grocery stores while they are still in season and make these Meyer lemon cookies! The buttery cookies make a bright company for Lunar New Year, Valentine’s Day, tea break or someone you know who is in need of a little cheer to get over the winter blues.

Don’t want to miss a recipe? Sign up for the FREE Just One Cookbook newsletter delivered to your inbox! And stay in touch with me on Facebook, Google+, Pinterest, and Instagram for all the latest updates.