One of my favorite flavors is the citrus and sweet combination. When I saw fresh Meyer lemons at the grocery store, I couldn’t resist and knew I should make a Meyer Lemon Pound Cake. I have been using the same recipe for years, but this year I decided to go with this recipe from my friend Laura’s website Tutti Dolci.

Baking A Pound Cake with Myer Lemons

Meyer lemons are in season from December through May, but I typically see them at the store for much shorter than that period. They are sweeter than regular lemons and have a nice floral aroma. They are great with baked goods and salad, and I typically stock condiments such has Meyer lemon curd (drool!) and marmalade in my pantry. You can substitute with regular lemons but remember they are much more acidic than Meyer lemons so you will need to adjust.

Because I love the tangy flavor, I might have gone overboard with the amount of zest in the glaze. This is the best Meyer Lemon Pound Cake that I baked. The cake was very moist throughout the bread and the balance between sweetness and tangy sourness was just right. I know I’ll make this again while Meyer lemons are still in season and hope you enjoy this pound cake too!

Wish to learn more about Japanese cooking? Sign up for our free newsletter to receive cooking tips & recipe updates! And stay in touch with me on Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube, and Instagram.