My son started first grade yesterday and I asked him what he wanted to eat to celebrate his new school year. He requested this Chocolate Ice Cream again. Initially I was planning to post a Japanese recipe for today, but I’ll delay it to next Monday instead. I actually need this recipe to be up on my blog so that I can read the recipe from my iPad while cooking. Life gets pretty convenient with Apple products these days, doesn’t it? Speaking of which, I have cool giveaways today at the end of this post, so keep on reading!

Back to ice cream topic. I have to tell you that this chocolate ice cream was VERY special. Do you know why? Because you need to plan on making it 5 days before you can actually enjoy it.

5 days? You might ask. Yes, it’s not a typo. Did we really wait 5 days to eat it? Um… we couldn’t wait so we tasted it earlier, but we did save some for the 5th day. You will love this ice cream. If you are like me who’s a chocoholic, then this is a must try recipe. Next time I’m going to use gourmet chocolate as an experiment (not that I’m saying Trader Joe’s Belgium chocolate is bad – it was excellent with TJ’s chocolate already). The ice cream was very, very rich. It’s like truffles but the ice cream version. Are you now curious to try? I tell you, it’s worth it!

Wish to learn more about Japanese cooking? Sign up for our free newsletter to receive cooking tips & recipe updates! And stay in touch with me on Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube, and Instagram.

Go to next page for a chance to win one of 3 Apple gift cards and free iPhone App!